Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2012

The search for the Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2012 concluded on 18 October 2012 with an awards banquet at the Makati Shangri-La Hotel. SGV Chairman and Managing Partner and SGV Foundation Chairman and President Vic Noel formally opened the Awards Night, while Deputy Managing Partner Itos Cruz inducted the 2011 and 2012 winners and finalists into the Entrepreneur Of the Year Philippines Academy. PLDT President and CEO Polly Nazareno gave the keynote speech on behalf of Chairman of the Board Manny Pangilinan.

This year’s finalists were: (top row, L-R) Raoul Roberto Goco, Executive Chef and Owner, Cyma Greek Taverna Co.; Antonette De Guzman and Carolina Osteria, Managing Directors, ACM Landholdings, Inc.; Amelia Manas, President and CEO, Bruno’s Services Corporation, Venus Genson, President and CEO, Art ‘N’ Nature Manufacturing Corporation; Siu Ping Par, COO, and Nelson Par, Chairman and CEO, PR Gaz Franchising Corporation; (middle row, L-R) Dennis Uy, President and CEO, Phoenix Petroleum Philippines Inc.; Raphael Juan, President, Centro Manufacturing Corporation, Dr. Ronald Guzman, Founder, President and CEO, Medical Colleges of Northern Philippines, Marvin Agustin, President, SumoSam Foods, Inc.; (bottom row, L-R) Raphael Soon, President, North Park Noodle House, Inc.; Tommanny Tan, President and CEO, Filipino Entrepreneurs & Resources Network, Inc.; Jose Victor Paterno, President and CEO, Philippine Seven Corporation; Jaime Ayala, Founder and CEO, Hybrid Social Solutions, Inc.; Raul Ang, President, Maxima Machineries, Inc.; Edwin Salonga, Chairperson, and Vincent Rapisura, President and CEO, Social Enterprise Development Partnerships, Inc.; Willy Tee Ten, President and Dealer Principal, Autohub Group of Companies; and Jonathan Suy, General Manager, Jomaray Pulp Packaging Industries.

Mr. Jaime I. Ayala of Hybrid Social Solutions was named the Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2012 and will be the first Filipino social entrepreneur to represent the country in the prestigious World Entrepreneur Of The Year in Monte Carlo, Monaco in June 2013. Also the recipient of the Social Entrepreneur award, he has been recognized for his visionary efforts to bridge the power infrastructure gap in the provinces by leveraging on solar-powered technology, advocating for social transformation for the poor and marginalized.

The remaining category winners are: Small Business Entrepreneur, Jonathan O. Suy of Jomaray Pulp Packaging; Master Entrepreneur, Jose Victor P. Paterno of Philippine Seven Corporation; Woman Entrepreneur, Venus C. Genson of Art ‘N’ Nature Manufacturing Corporation; Emerging Entrepreneur, Tommany Tan of FERN, Inc.; Young Entrepreneur, Marvin Agustin of SumoSam Foods, Inc.

Since its inception in 2003, the Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines program has become one of the most prestigious events for the local business community. The program recognizes the inspiring dedication, brilliance and dauntless spirit of our Filipino entrepreneurs.

Supporting this year’s program as co-presenters are the De La Salle University, Department of Trade and Industry, Development Bank of the Philippines, Philippine Business for Social Progress, Philippine Stock Exchange, and the Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship. Media sponsors are BusinessWorld and the ABS-CBN News Channel. Official airline is KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, operating on behalf of the Air France-KLM Group in the Philippines. Banquet sponsors are ABS-CBN Corporation, Alaska Milk Corporation, Bounty Fresh Food Inc., Fiori Di M Food and Floralscapes, Hyundai Asia Resources Inc., National Bookstore, Planters Development Bank, SAP Philippines, Shopwise, Vibal Publishing House and Victorinox Travel Gear.

The 2012 EOY Philippines 2012 carries the theme “Passion”. Program Director, Atty. Antonette Tionko, shares, “Passion is the fuel that sets afire the entrepreneurial spirit. It is what compels men and women to believe in and pursue their dreams. It is the common thread that binds entrepreneurs, transforming ordinary people into extraordinary visionaries. Through their enthusiasm and conviction, Filipino entrepreneurs motivate others and contribute positively to the economy. In 2012, the Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines program celebrates the inspiring passions and achievements of Filipino entrepreneurs. ”

Copyright 2010-2011 SGV Foundation. All Rights Reserved.